Ripple

The Grateful Dead: Ripple

(Taking a distance from the kitsch of Father’s Day and the Acropolis Museum inauguration.)

If my words did glow with the gold of sunshine/And my tunes were played on the harp unstrung,/Would you hear my voice come through the music,/Would you hold it near as it were your own?

It’s a hand-me-down, the thoughts are broken,/Perhaps they’re better left unsung./I don’t know, don’t really care/Let there be songs to fill the air.

Ripple in still water,/When there is no pebble tossed,/Nor wind to blow.

Reach out your hand if your cup be empty,/If your cup is full may it be again,/Let it be known there is a fountain,/That was not made by the hands of men.

There is a road, no simple highway,/Between the dawn and the dark of night,/And if you go no one may follow,/That path is for your steps alone.

Ripple in still water,/When there is no pebble tossed,/Nor wind to blow.

But if you fall you fall alone,/If you should stand then who’s to guide you?/If I knew the way I would take you home.

1 comment
  1. Maurice Politis said:

    Thanks for this! Us serious fathers never celebrate silly days anyway; much better trying to make ripples in the wavy sea of Chalkidiki :)

